The “Robert Powell” in us all


Most of us don’t want to think about the “Robert Powell” in us. That would be like admitting we have a prejudice or something ugly like that. It is easy to say that someone else is prejudiced, but to find our own and say it out loud is difficult. It is easy to look at the way Powell acted and disown any similarity in us. I may look at myself in a minute, but it is obvious that when we look around at others in this world, we see the “Robert Powells” in other positions of authority. Some of them wear black robes; some stand at the pulpit; some are prosecutors; some sit in our capitols; and some are lawyers like me.

Since I have seen Powell and other officers like him, I don’t view it necessarily as racially motivated, but rather his desire to exert the power that was given to him. The Spiderman quote comes to mind- “with great power comes great responsibility”. We have people in this world that want to be a cop, a judge, a politician, etc. for the wrong reasons. I believe the process begins after birth as opposed to conception. It is possible that young Robert was picked on as a child. It could be that he was starved for attention and respect as a child. I guess when we are starved; we may do what we can to feed the hunger.

For me, I need to use the power, given to me as a parent, more responsibly. Maybe if I give them more attention, respect, and love, they won’t be starving, as they become an adult in this world.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The “Robert Powell” in us all”

  1. Angela Coker Says:

    Great writing, Tony! Keep it up. You’re saying exactly what I feel in all of your posts.
    Angela

  2. Katrena Says:

    very moving to me..Katrena

Leave a Reply

